More than 50 OBU students, faculty and staff earn Presidential Service Awards

Ouachita Baptist University President Rex Horne presented the 125th Anniversary Presidential Service Award to more than 50 students, faculty and staff members on Monday, Dec. 12. Recipients were recognized for each performing at least 125 hours of community service in 2011, Ouachita’s 125thanniversary year. The group served a total of more than 11,800 hours throughout the year.

“The Presidential Service Awards brought to a close our 125th Anniversary celebrations in a special way by focusing on the spirit of service that is so widely demonstrated by members of the Ouachita community,” said Ian Cosh, vice president for community and international engagement and chair of the 125thanniversary steering committee. “The awards were given as a final salute to a wonderful year of celebrations in which we remembered and honored our institution’s 125 years of making a difference in our community locally and internationally.”

“The number serving and the time given to service makes a statement of the character of our faculty, staff and students,” Horne said. “The exemplary servant leaders infuse our university with the vision for others rather than self.”

“Our Christian calling to lose ourselves in service to others was at the heart of this award,” Cosh explained. “We are proud of each person who went the extra mile to show their love of others through their service commitments.”

“There are so many opportunities to serve in the community and so many needs that if each person chose one need and committed to serving in that area consistently, it could make a huge impact in that community,” said award recipient Amy Vaughan, a senior Christian studies major.

“Service is important because we have been greatly served by Christ,” said Hannah Ramsey, a junior English major and award recipient. “We are the hands and feet of Christ in this community. It is our duty as Christians to serve the people of this community.”

Faculty and staff members who received the award include: Dr. Hal Bass, professor of political science; Ian Cosh, vice president for community and international engagement; Dr. James Files, assistant professor of accounting; Gail Hennagin, library assistant to circulation/reference, instructional media and special collections; John Hill, senior programmer/analyst; Rebecca Jones, instructor of communications; Dr. Wesley Kluck, vice president for institutional advancement; Karen Matros, assistant to the dean of interdisciplinary studies and transcript specialist; Shirley McMillan, director of the Foster Grandparent Program; Brenda Bradley-Philson, TRIO director and director of Educational Talent Search; Keisha Pittman, development officer; Dr. Mike Reynolds, professor of kinesiology and leisure studies; Jim Rothwell, assistant dean of the Hickingbotham School of Business and assistant professor of accounting; and Becca Woodall, hall director and assistant director of campus activities.­­

The following students received the award and are listed in order of hometown:

Arkadelphia, Ark. – Lindsey Fowler, a sophomore political science and business administration major, and Tim Horton, a sophomore physics and professional chemistry major

Batesville, Ark. – Mary Castleman, a junior Christian media/communications major, and Whitley Poole, a senior early childhood education major

Benton, Ark. – Lacey Brooks, a junior mass communications major; Ryan James, a junior biology major; Devan Malone, a junior speech communication major; and Alyson Walker, a senior Biblical studies and psychology major

Bolivar, Mo. – Leigha Hill, a senior communication science and disorders major

Cacak, Serbia – Kurt Bannert, a junior psychology and Russian major.

Conway, Ark. – Jennifer Coon, a sophomore dietetics and nutrition major; Buck Schroeder, a sophomore accounting major; Laura Sikes, a senior communication science and disorders major; and Wendy Vick, a senior biology major

Dallas, Texas – Sarah Anderson, a senior sociology major

Denison, Texas – Melissa Butters, a senior early childhood education major

Donaldson, Ark. – Michael Crowe, a sophomore business administration/finance major

El Dorado, Ark. – Stephanie Butcher, a sophomore accounting major

Fort Smith, Ark. – Britta Stamps, a senior political science major

Frisco, Texas – Brittany Green, a senior psychology and Spanish major

Grapevine, Texas – Amy Vaughan, a senior Christian missions major

Lewisville, Texas – Katelyn Mustain, a senior dietetics and nutrition major

Little Rock, Ark. – Chris Chandler, a senior biology major

Lowell, Ark. – Hayley Hill, a sophomore Spanish major

Maumelle, Ark. – Hannah Pilcher, a junior Spanish major

Monticello, Ark. – Cheyenne Flemister, a senior accounting major

Naperville, Ill. – Hannah Ramsey, a junior English major

Nixa, Mo. – Catie Bennett, a junior early childhood education major

Queen City, Texas – Jacob Lively, a senior biology major

Redfield, Ark. – Kelsey Willis, a sophomore chemistry major

Richardson, Texas – Natalie Holmes, a senior early childhood education major

Rockwall, Texas – Ugo Nkalari, a junior business administration major

Rogers, Ark. – Brynn Alford, a junior biology major, and David Sypult, a sophomore business administration/management and business administration/finance major

Sachse, Texas – Abby Dekle, a senior biology major

Searcy, Ark. – Elizabeth White, a sophomore mathematics and secondary education major

Sheridan, Ark. – Jessica Winston, a senior biology major

Sherwood, Ark. – Hannah Nolan, a sophomore dietetics and nutrition major; and T.C. Squires, a senior Spanish, math, and education major

Shreveport, La. – Kaitlin Williams, a sophomore business administration major

Spring, Texas – Stephanie Warren, a senior Christian missions major

Texarkana, Texas – Lindsey Hackett, a senior biology major

For more information, contact OBU’s Elrod Center at (870) 245-5320.

By Nicci Fillinger

Comments are closed.