facebook pixel
skip to main content

Shambarger Competition


Ouachita's division of music presents

The 23rd annual Mary Shambarger Competition for Singers

Tuesday, February 2, 2021 • 2 p.m. • Francis McBeth Recital Hall, Mabee Fine Arts Center

The Mary Shambarger Competition for Singers honors Mrs. Mary Shambarger, Professor Emerita of music at Ouachita Baptist University. Mrs. Shambarger served on the music faculty for 32 years. At the time of her retirement in 1998, she was the Lena Goodwin Trimble Professor of Music. While Mrs. Shambarger served as a voice instructor and classroom teacher, the bulk of her work at Ouachita was with the choral groups she directed. She was instrumental in forming the Ouachita-Tones, and all girls ensemble. In 1991, she chose to restructure the group and formed The Ouachita Sounds, a musical ensemble of six women and six men. Mrs. Shambarger had the chance to work alongside her family while at Ouachita.  Her husband, Dr. Jake Shambarger, retired as professor emeritus of education in 1996, and her daughter, Susan Shambarger Goss, graduated from Ouachita.

View the event info brochure.

More about the competition…

The competition is held the last Tuesday in February, in the beautiful W. Francis McBeth Recital Hall, located in the Mabee Fine Arts Center on the campus of Ouachita Baptist University. Ouachita Voice Principals in their fourth semester of study or beyond, are eligible to participate. The competition repertoire rotates annually to include Art Song (2021), Music Theatre (2022), and Arias from Opera and Oratorio (2023). Adjudication is provided by a panel of distinguished voice professionals.  The winner of the competition receives a cash award of $500, the second place winner $300, third place is $200, fourth place $100, and Honorable Mention $50.

Past Winners

2020 Twenty-Second Annual Music Theatre Competition

1st Place-Clay Mobley

2nd Place-Bonnie Gentry

3rd Place-Logan Dooley

4th Place-Hannah Anderson

Honorable Mention-Hannah Gothard

2019 Twenty-First Annual Music Theatre Competition

1st Place-Micah Brooks
2nd Place-Clay Mobley
3rd Place-Zachary Myers
4th Place-Michaela Finley
Honorable Mention-Melodie DuBose

2018 “Twentieth Anniversary” Art Song Competition

1st Place-Clay Mobley
2nd Place-Elizabeth Griffin
3rd Place-Esther Atkinson
4th Place-Micah Brooks
Honorable Mention-Hannah Saunders

2017 Nineteenth Annual Aria Competition

1st Place-Beth Crisler
2nd Place-Jessie Brunson
3rd Place-Will Stotts
4th Place-Esther Atkinson
Honorable Mention-Elizabeth Schutter

2016 Eighteenth Annual Music Theatre Competition

1st Place-Will Stotts
2nd Place-Hannah Hines
3rd Place-Garrett Sayers
4th Place-Esther Atkinson
Honorable Mention-Lauren Hutcheson

2015 Seventeenth Annual Art Song Competition

1st Place-Jillian Turner
2nd Place-Joshua Wayne
3rd Place-Molly Salmon
4th Place-Alexis Morgan
Honorable Mention-Seth Russell

2014 Sixteenth Annual Aria Competition

1st Place-Caitlin Secrest
2nd Place-Molly Salmon
3rd Place-Meredith Martin
4th Place-Joshua Wayne
Honorable Mention-Joel Rogier

2013 Fifteenth Annual Music Theatre Competition

1st Place-Rachel Harris
2nd Place-Caitlin Secrest
3rd Place-Nicole Mattson
4th Place-Chad Burris
Honorable Mention-Hannah Garner

2012 Fourteenth Annual Art Song Competition

1st Place-Caitlin Secrest
2nd Place-Grace Johnson
3rd Place-Meredith Martin
4th Place-Rachel Harris
Honorable Mention-Xavier Lagunas
Honorable Mention-John Tneoh

2011 Thirteenth Annual Aria Competition

1st Place-Elisabeth Hipp
2nd Place-Jacob Watson
3rd Place-Maggie Taylor
4th Place-Xavier Lagunas
Honorable Mention-Andrew Miller

2010 Twelfth Annual Music Theatre Competition

1st Place-Elisabeth Hipp
2nd Place-Jacob Watson
3rd Place-Haley Broadaway
4th Place-Kyle Huey
Honorable Mention-Brooke Ault
Honorable Mention-Hannah Chapman
Honorable Mention-Krysteena Koiner
Honorable Mention-Andrew Miller

2009 Eleven Annual Art Song Competition

1st Place-Elisabeth Hipp
2nd Place-Maggie Taylor
3rd Place-Kyle Huey
4th Place-Jacob Watson
Honorable Mention-Doug Brady
Honorable Mention-Samantha Parrish

2008 “Tenth Anniversary” Aria Competition 

1st Place-Sean Wilson
2nd Place-April Roberts
3rd Place-Abby Adams
4th Place Tie-Christy Lord
4th Place Tie-Andrew Miller
Honorable Mention-Angela Bloodworth

2007 Ninth Annual Music Theatre Competition 

1st Place-Stephen Ray
2nd Place-Kirt Thomas
3rd Place-Christopher Straw
4th Place-Jenna Morgan
Honorable Mention-Valerie Woodburn

2006 Eighth Annual Art Song Competition

1st Place-Jenna Morgan
2nd Place-Stephen Ray
2nd Place-Valerie Woodburn
4th-Elizabeth Hall Hammon
Honorable Mention-Stephanie DeVoss

2005 Seventh Annual Aria Competition

1st Place-Michelle Chapman
2nd Place-Jenna Morgan
3rd Place-Christie Richardson
4th Place-Elizabeth Hall
Honorable Mention-Drew Greenway

2004 Sixth Annual Music Theatre Competition

1st Place-Jonathan White
2nd Place-Jessica Gartman
3rd Place-Heather Baker
4th Place-Michelle Chapman
Honorable Mention-Cliff House

2003 Fifth Annual Art Song Competition

1st Place-Jessica Gartman
2nd Place-Christopher Riddle
3rd Place-Renée Henry
4th Place-Candice Looney
Honorable Mention-Gary Keene, Jr.

2002 Fourth Annual Aria Competition

1st Place-Jenna Williams
2nd Place-Kara Floyd Shaw
3rd Place-Christopher Riddle
Honorable Mention-Adam Langley

2001 Third Annual Musical Theatre Competition

1st Place-Jeremy Bishop
2nd Place-Joshua Shaw
3rd Place-Bryan Bailey
Honorable Mention-Kara Floyd Shaw

2000 Second Annual Art Song Competition

1st Place-Jenna Williams
2nd Place-Jeremy Bishop
3rd Place-David Stanley
Honorable Mention-Beth Stubblefield

1999 First Annual Aria Competition

1st Place-Kristin Maddox
2nd Place-Ashley Mitchell
3rd Place-Joshua Payne
Honorable Mention-Kelsey Dime

Next Steps