facebook pixel
skip to main content

Ouachita Stories


Ouachita’s Wind Ensemble presents concert March 4

Ouachita Baptist University Wind Ensemble in ConcertMarch 04, 2024 - Coleman Callan

Ouachita Baptist University’s Division of Music in the School of Performing Arts will present the Wind Ensemble in a spring concert Monday, March 4, at 7:30 p.m. in Jones Performing Arts Center. The concert is free and open to the public.

The program will feature “March,” “Song Without Words,” “Song of the Blacksmith” and “Fantasia on the ‘Dargason’” from Gustav Holst’s Second Suite in F, Op. 28 No. 2; “Despedida (Farewell)” from Concerto for Marimba and Symphonic Band by Ney Rosauro; “Lisbon,” “Horkstow Grange,” “Rufford Park Poachers,” “The Brisk Young Sailor,” “Lord Melbourne” and “The Lost Lady Found” from Percy Aldridge Grainger’s Lincolnshire Posy; “1789 - St. Louis Cathedral,” “1810 - Jean Lafitte” and “1924 - Economy Hall” from L’histoire de la Nouvella-Orléans by Alan Theisen; One Life Beautiful by Julie Giroux and Quartets by Roger Cichy.

“I’m very proud of the Wind Ensemble and excited to play our program for the audience," said Dr. Craig Hamilton, Trimble Professor of Music and director of bands at Ouachita.

He added that the concert features "two outstanding soloists” — Katie McManus, a senior instrumental music education major from Buford, Ga., who'll perform a marimba solo, and Dr. Carlos Feller, Ouachita assistant professor of music, who'll perform a flute solo.

The concert will be available via the Livestream app or at livestream.com/obu. For more information about Ouachita bands, contact Dr. Craig Hamilton at [email protected] or at (870) 245-5137.

Photo by Sarah Dean


FLUTE: Emma Grace Morris, Brailee Price, Brooke Wright, Elizabeth Hahn, Victoria Sprague

OBOE: Kelsey Coventry, Kaytlin Norris

BASSOON: Jennie Higdon, Karlie Johnson

CLARINET: Lane Dunman, Baylee Burson, Landon DiMaio, Lexi Williams

BASS CLARINET: Abigail Gates

SAXOPHONE: Lexi Peck, Aaron Washburn, Joseph Osborne, Kinsley Rowland

TRUMPET: Camryn Stroupe, Nathan Price, Sarah Miller

HORN: Nathan Clark, Jake Emmons, Abigail Dahl, Haley Jackson, Natalie Hixson

TROMBONE: Jayden Gumm, Braxton Fischer, Cassie Corres, Whit Clark

EUPHONIUM: Emily Inmon

TUBA: Alexander Browning

PERCUSSION: Micah West, Andrew Pierce, Cason Barnett, Carly Hall, Jenna Barnes, Livi Moore, Owen Dodd



Ouachita Baptist University's website uses cookies to improve user experience, analyze site usage and aid in student recruitment. To learn more, read Ouachita's privacy policy.

I understand