facebook pixel
skip to main content

Ouachita Stories


Ouachita faculty and staff members honored for years of service

September 08, 2008 - Brooke Showalter

ARKADELPHIA, Ark.—Ouachita Baptist University honored 38 faculty and staff members for extended periods of service to the institution at the school’s annual faculty/staff banquet on Sept. 4.

Dr. Alex Nisbet, professor of chemistry, was honored for 45 years of service with a special gift, a painting of buildings on campus where he has worked, Moses-Provine and Jones Science Center, painted by OBU instructor of Art and Design Stephanie Smith.

Recipients of the 35-year award include: Dr. Tom Auffenberg, R. Voyt Hill professor of history; Dr. Raouf Halaby, professor of Art and Design and English; Dr. Richard Mills, professor of sociology; and Dr. Johnny Wink, Betty Burton Peck professor of English.

Recipients of the 25-year award include: Daniel Bailey, physical plant; Dr. John Cloud, development officer; Phillip Easley, physical plant Dr. Craig Hamilton, Lena Goodwin Trimble professor of music and director of bands; Luke Owens, physical plant; and Bill Phelps, director of information technology services.

Recipients of the 20-year award include: Nona Anderson, associate professor of modern languages; Ian Cosh, assistant to the president for community development, director of the Ben M. Elrod Center for Family and Community, and director of the Daniel and Betty Jo Grant Center for International Education; and Dr. Bill Viser, associate professor of Christian ministries.

Recipients of the 15-year award include: Terrence Carter, Upward Bound director; Rosemary Flora, adjunct professor of English; Cindy Fuller, lecturer in music; Dr. Keldon Henley, vice president for student services and dean of students; Bill Hulan, physical plant; Linda Purifoy, academic enrichment center; Dr. Phil Rice, professor of business administration; Dr. Amy Sonheim, professor of English; Dr. Bob Webster, professor of accounting and holder of the George Young chair of business; and Mary Worthen, assistant professor of music.

Recipients of the 10-year award include: Sharis Armstrong, financial aid officer; Jeremy Collie, physical plant; Vickie Crossno, physical plant; Dr. Jay Curlin, Kathryn Maddox professor of English; Jay Derby, assistant football coach; Beverly Dickerson, bookstore; John Hill, senior programmer/analyst; Jill Houlihan, registrar’s office; Ann Hughes, development; Todd Knight, head football coach; Marla Rigsby, IT software specialist; Ricky Robbins, physical plant; Dr. Caroline Taylor, professor of music; and Dr. Jim Taylor, associate professor of biology.

by Brooke Showalter