facebook pixel
skip to main content

Ouachita Stories


Ouachita awards banquet honors outstanding athletes in 14 sports

April 29, 2009 - OBU News Bureau

Julius Pruitt and Sarah Watson were named Ouachita Baptist University's outstanding athletes of the year during OBU's 2009 athletic banquet held April 29 at Walker Conference Center.

Pruitt received the Bob Lambert Memorial Outstanding Male Athlete Award. A record-setting wide receiver, Pruitt was named to the 2008 All-Gulf South Conference First Team.

Watson received the Outstanding Female Athlete Award. She competed on OBU's women's 400 medley relay team which set a national record in that event during this year's NCAA Division II Swimming and Diving Championships.

The Frank Reed Male Scholar-Athlete Awards were presented to Vincente Condorelli, men's swimming; Blake Lockwood, baseball; and Zach Wright, football. Brittany Norton, who competed in both swimming and cross country, received the Outstanding Female Scholar-Athlete Award.

Other awards presented during the banquet include:


Jerry Forehand Awards for senior athletes who have shown outstanding character, leadership and dedication - Jared Hershberger, Rudy Jovanovski, Patrick Lemmond and JoeDan Poulter.

Most Inspirational, in honor of the player who inspires and empowers his teammates to reach their full potential on and off the field - Sean O'Rourke.

Defensive Players of the Year -- Drew Wurzelbacher and Drew Maus.

Most Valuable Player - Will Gowdy.

Men's Basketball:

Jerry Forehand Awards -- Antonio "Okie" Benjamin, Ed Keyes, Rowan Ledbetter, Daniel Maddox, Brandon Rose, Quintin "Q" Smith.

X-Factor Award, in honor of the player who unselfishly performed all the little things it takes for a team to be successful - Quintin "Q" Smith.

Offensive Player of the Year - Daniel Maddox.

Defensive Player of the Year -- Antonio "Okie" Benjamin.

Bill Vining Outstanding Player of the Year - Rowan Ledbetter.

Women's Basketball:

Coach's Awards -- Gabby Coleman and Domino Miller.

Offensive Player of the Year -- A'Laeshia Adams.

Defensive Player of the Year - Kim Beverly.

Legacy Award - Haley Griffin, who had 1,016 career points, 667 career rebounds and

led the team in rebounding during her sophomore, junior and senior years.

Women's Cross Country:

Jerry Forehand Awards - Logan Lyles and Hannah Wagley.

Newcomer of the Year - Monica Davis.

Bob Gravett Outstanding Cross Country Athlete of the Year - Hannah Howard.


Jerry Forehand Award - Quint Ashburn.

Team Captains -- Julius Pruitt and Bob Ruffing, offense; Frank Espy and Antwon Thompson, defense; Zach Wright, special teams.

Danny Turner Outstanding Offensive Player Award - Lance Parker.

Defensive Player of the Year - Jerry McNeil.

Special Teams Players of the Year -- Zach Wright and Jeremy Young.

Antwoyne Edwards Leadership Award - Zach Wright.

Buddy Benson Most Valuable Player Award - Julius Pruitt.


Jerry Forehand Awards -- Bobby Allen, Klayton Seyler and Blake Sisson.

Outstanding Golfer Award - Rob Greer.

Men's Soccer:

Outstanding Offensive Player -- Victor Romero.

Outstanding Defensive Player -- Neal Ozmun.

Most Valuable Player -- Alex Tonrey.

Women's Soccer:

Jerry Forehand Award - Laura Cox.

Outstanding Offensive Player -- Lauren (Pierce) Denning.

Outstanding Defensive Player -- Haley Barron.

Most Valuable Player -- Lauren (Pierce) Denning.


Jerry Forehand Award -- Crystal Robinson and Randi Wilson.

Offensive Player of the Year - Taylor Austin.

Defensive Player of the Year - Monica Davis.

Pitcher of the Year -- Kristin Rigsbee.

Most Valuable Player - Kristin Rigsbee.

Men's Swimming & Diving:

Jerry Forehand Award -- Vincente Condorelli.

Swimmer of the Year -- Radu Badalac.

Outstanding Performance Award (National Record, 200 Medley Relay) -- Radu Badalac, Hal Eubanks, Max Heinze and Nelson Silva.

Women's Swimming & Diving:

Jerry Forehand Award -- Jenny Christensen.

Swimmer of the Year - Sarah Watson.

Men's Tennis:

Jerry Forehand Award -- Vasek Stverka.

Johnny Heflin Most Valuable Player Award -- Jan Plewinski.

Women's Tennis:

Jerry Forehand Award -- Natalia Drada.

Outstanding Player of the Year -- Tavu Fa.


Offensive Player of the Year -- Libby Merritt.

Defensive Player of the Year -- Lauren Stuart.

Most Valuable Player -- Meredith Henry.



Ouachita Baptist University's website uses cookies to improve user experience, analyze site usage and aid in student recruitment. To learn more, read Ouachita's privacy policy.

I understand