facebook pixel
skip to main content

Ouachita Stories


Ouachita faculty, staff honored for combined 780 years of service

Ouachita NewsNovember 18, 2020 - Rachel Gaddis

Ouachita Baptist University recently recognized 36 faculty and staff members in celebration of their milestone anniversaries working for the university. Together they have served a total of 780 years at the start of the 2020-2021 academic year, with six faculty and staff members celebrating 35 years or more.

This year’s longest-serving honorees are Janice Ford and Kevin Sullivan. Ford, professor and government documents librarian, celebrated 45 years of service and Sullivan, facilities management, was recognized for 40 years.

45 and 40 years of service

In her time at Ouachita, Ford has worked with government documents, specifically the McClellan Collection, and securing interlibrary loans for the Riley-Hickingbotham Library.

“Janice has always had the library’s good as her lodestar,” said Ray Granade, director of library services and professor of history. “Second, she has always been driven to learn, improve her skills and thereby provide better service to our patrons. As a librarian of learning, diligence and integrity, particularly her ability to procure through interlibrary loan even obscure and rare materials that our patrons need, Janice has embodied the reason that Ouachita has invested in professional librarians.”

Sullivan, in addition to his many projects for facilities management over the years, installs the senior sidewalks on Ouachita’s campus each year.

“He not only has installed every one of them, but he built the complete assemble of the sandblaster that we use to put the names in the concrete. There is nothing he can’t fix or figure out,” said John Hardman, director of facilities management. “Kevin is the ultimate professional in everything that he does.”

Those celebrating 35 years of service to Ouachita include: Steve Hennagin, professor of mathematics; Sherri Phelps, director of human resources; Doug Reed, associate vice president for academic affairs, Herbert and LaDelle Moody Professor of Pre-Law Studies and director of Maddox Public Affairs Center; and Ruby Williams, facilities management.

35 years of service

“The dedication of Ouachita faculty and staff matters – they are investing years of their lives in students,” said Ouachita President Ben Sells. “Beyond these personal influences, their collective service over the years also has contributed to the university’s increased enrollment, highest graduation rate and, this year, to bringing students back to campus for in-person learning during a pandemic.

“Many parents over the years have entrusted their students to Ouachita because of our faculty and staff’s love for students, as well as the excellence they exhibit in their fields,” he added. “Ouachita is pleased to recognize these 36 colleagues for their faithful service.”

Other faculty and staff members honored include:

30 Years: Nancy Hardman, Edna and Freda Linn Professor of Communication Sciences and Pre-Medical Studies; Deborah Lee, facilities management; Craig Ward, men’s tennis coach and coordinator of tennis.

30 years of service

25 Years: Robin Green, facilities management; Laurie Huneycutt, School of Fine Arts administrative assistant; Glenda Secrest, professor of music; Molly Wallace, director of health services; and Kim Ward, tennis center manager.

25 years of service

20 Years: Dennis Brashier, facilities management; Detri Brech, Charles S. and Elma Grey Goodwin Holt Professor of Dietetics and Pre-Medical Studies; Kevin Cornelius, professor of physics; Larry Dyess, facilities management; Kent Faught, professor of management and Holder of the Jay and Lynn Heflin Chair of Business; Tracey Knight, executive assistant to the president; and Martha Womack, Campus Ministries administrative assistant.

20 years of service

15 Years: James Files, associate professor of accounting; Melinda Fowler, IT software developer; Tim Harrell, director of Student Life; Kevin Herrington, network services administrator; Jonathan Hughes, facilities management; Benny Johnson, facilities management; Wesley Kluck, vice president for student development and university physician; Susan Monroe, staff accompanist; Tara Pritchard, Social Sciences administrative assistant; and Diane Runyan, Elrod Center administrative assistant.

15 years of service

15 years of service

10 Years: Ashlee Giles, director of enrollment initiatives and senior admissions counselor; Bethany Hicks, associate professor of history; Elizabeth Kelly, associate professor of sociology and Elrod Center applied research associate; René Zimny, assistant professor of Art and Design; and Mike Pritchard, facilities management.

10 years of service